Skip to content

The Almost Last Post

April 4, 2013

Dear friends and other readers who have come here regularly without me knowing who you are …

After much serious thought, I’ve decided that the time has come for me to close down Postcards from Wildwood and to leave WordPress.

Leaving WordPress saddens me, firstly because I’ve found the support team to be fantastic, but also because I know how things work here.  With just a couple of things that, in an ideal world I could have tweaked, my blogging experience with WordPress has been truly enjoyable.  However, not having control over who gets to use my photos has become an issue that I simply cannot resolve here.  I won’t go into details, because my recent post about Pinterest, and the discussion following on from that in the comments sets out the main sticking points.  What I will add is that within the past week I worked out how to use Google Image Search and ran just three of my images through it.  What I found was shocking.  The entire set of twelve images from one of my tutorials had been lifted and used with another blog’s watermark superimposed (very badly) on top of mine.  Other images had been lifted, the watermarks cropped off, and they were being used to lure people to websites that either seemed to have no purpose or that had a distinctly unpleasant purpose.  Bearing in mind that ‘pinners’ had even started to remove family photos from my blog – even after I added a personal caption directly to each of those images to the effect that this was a personal family image and I would not give permission for it to be used on any other blog or website – quite simply the thought that these, too, may have found their way on to sites such as the ones I encountered broke my heart.  I decided not to explore further.  All I will say is this: if you decide to give the Google Image Search a go with your own images, prepare yourself for what you may discover.

For a while, this was going to be The End of my foray into blogging.  But I changed my mind.  Instead, I will be starting a new blog on a different blogging platform, and I hope to have this up and running before the end of the month.  I hope that those of you who have enjoyed Postcards from Wildwood will want to join me in my new virtual home.  There’ll be a slightly different spin on the posts, but they will still be based around my creative activities. That’s the plan, anyway!

When I’m ready to go ‘live’ I’ll put one more post up here, directing you to the new location.  But if you want to be sure to know where I’m going, please let me know and I’ll send you an email when the first post is up.  In fact that first post is already written – but there’s a bit of setting up to be done and learning how things work with the new blogging platform before I can click on the Publish button.

You can leave a message in the comments here – I will see your email address, so no need to say more than ‘Yes, let me know!’  Or if we’re already in touch you can of course just send me an email.

Whether you decide to come with me to the new blog or not, I want to take this opportunity to thank all my blog friends and those readers who have preferred to be anonymous for spending some moments of the past four years with me.  I wish all of you happiness, success and a wonderful life.

With love,


23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2013 12:28 pm

    Please let me know where you are headed!

  2. April 4, 2013 12:49 pm

    let me know – i follow blogs via wp reader, but it can be a bit random and not everything shows up

  3. April 4, 2013 12:58 pm

    Well, I’ll follow you anywhere. Do let me know :)

  4. natalie fryde permalink
    April 4, 2013 1:33 pm

    Dear Janice,

    this is very annoying what has happened to you. Peoples' rights (and work) are being digitally diluted in rather an alarming way. Please send me the link to your new blog site – or I shall miss you.

    Best Regards from North Germany


  5. noemi9 permalink
    April 4, 2013 3:15 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your ‘leaving’…please let me know about your new blog. Thank you very much,


  6. April 4, 2013 5:46 pm

    Of course I want to follow the new blog. I didn’t understand what you did to saw who and where are your photos.
    I’ll come back to see where is the new blog.
    Kisses, kisses.

  7. betsysmom permalink
    April 4, 2013 11:01 pm

    Yes, let me know!! Thanks

  8. April 5, 2013 1:10 am

    I’m interested in knowing where you will continue blogging. I’m also interested in knowing how you “run” your photo images through google. I haven’t a clue if my images are used elsewhere but would like to know.

  9. April 5, 2013 6:31 am

    So sorry that you’ve had this horrible experience, I’ve very much enjoyed your blog and would like to be kept informed of your new blogging home.

  10. suekrekorian permalink
    April 5, 2013 8:12 pm

    I’d love to continue with you on your journeys, please let me know how. So so sad that this wanton plagiarism is going on.

  11. Erica Marsden permalink
    April 5, 2013 8:40 pm

    I want to keep following you. Please let me know when and where you shift. So sad for you that it has become necessary for you to make this change.

  12. April 6, 2013 12:28 am

    Please let me know, I enjoy your blog very much!

  13. April 6, 2013 3:35 am

    Janice, I tried to do a google image search using a picture from my blog but I’ve installed a right click dis-abler on my blog and I can’t copy the image URL. I don’t know if my images can still be copied or not. How did you do the google image search?

  14. Rochelle Gorss permalink
    April 6, 2013 7:11 am

    Janice, thanks for the update. Keep me informed. I really enjoy your blog.

    Wishing you much success!


  15. April 7, 2013 12:57 am

    Ugh! I’ve had this niggling worry about stolen photos and ‘unsavory’ traffic to/from my blog. Have been puzzled over how this could be… Now I’m afraid to do the image search! Would be interested in hearing more about your experience. Email?

    PLEASE add me to your list of people to take with you!


  16. April 7, 2013 4:54 pm

    I’m looking forward to following you to your new venture!

  17. April 9, 2013 1:46 pm

    sad, sad, sad……please let me know when you move….

  18. April 9, 2013 2:24 pm

    Dear Janice, I feel so sorry for all the trouble you have been going through. So unfair and unethical ! Please let me know where you are blogging from now on. Thank you for all you shared with your heart, talent and truth.
    I will have a look at this Google Image Search.

  19. April 17, 2013 7:30 pm

    I’m so sorry that you’re going through this. I don’t know why people think it’s ok to steal. I hope your new platform works out better for you. And yes let me know. xo

  20. marianne permalink
    April 29, 2013 4:02 am

    ah- what a drag! i am finally catching up. Sorry for the pain, glads you’ll be trying again somewhere else. Please let me know where to find you-

  21. May 8, 2013 9:26 am

    Maybe someday You are back…

  22. Sandy permalink
    June 26, 2013 1:18 am

    I just found your blog, and I’m sorry it took me so long!
    Plagiarists, on Pinterest and other sites, are a Bad Thing from another perspective, as well:
    There are a number of things I’ve tried to look up on the Web (info on health issues, for example, as we have no insurance) and WANT to know who posted them, when, and why, so I can better evaluate whether it’s halfway-good advice from a knowledgeable person, or not . . . several times, I’ve found the same paragraph, using *exactly the same* words including typos, on upwards of a half-dozen sites and blogs. With no attribution. This does not inspire confidence.
    And my husband has been writing science fiction for years, and is finally trying to get a couple things published – well, print publishers don’t want you to submit cover art, but he’s also looking at Kindle, which requires cover art, and as neither of us are artists we thought about combining bits from other peoples’ photos and artwork to get an illustration. Well, you can’t say “cover art based on original artwork by Jane Doe, John Smith and John Q Public; used by permission” when you can’t find out who Doe, Smith and Public ARE so you can ask them . . . grrrrr.

  23. Sandy permalink
    June 26, 2013 1:19 am

    P.S. I adore the photo of cat-at-microphone.

Thank you so much for your visit. Your comments are much appreciated.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

